top of page
Joyboys In The Grindhouse (180 Gram Vinyl LP)

11-song, 180 gram audiophile LP ships from Austin, Texas. $20 plus shipping anywhere in the world.



Joyboys marks a pop evolution, incorporating elements of psych rock, hip hop, synth pop, and cumbia into Name Sayers distinctively muscular sound. The album features guest appearances from guitarist Wayne Kramer of The MC5, Brooklyn rapper Chris Conde, and Orlando rapper E-Turn, was produced by Grammy nominee Grant Eppley (for Spoon's Lucifer On The Sofa) and was mastered by Steve Fallone & Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound NJ.

Name Sayers' personell includes Devin James Fry on vocals and various instruments, Grant Himmler on bass, Garrett Hellman on guitar, and Marc Henry on drums.

"We made some brutal pop songs," says Fry, "and celebrated everyone's creative input along the way.  Joyboys dips in and out of sonic worlds while still being very much a Name Sayers joint." 


The taut lyrics of Joyboys In The Grindhouse touch on psychonautic tour experiences, self-medication for social anxiety, sex, and the resiliency which can result from sustained political resistance.

The album's title nods to both a wry sense of camp that imbues the project and to Fry's hands-on profession as a surgical instrument sharpener. 49 songs were written, demoed, and culled to the 11 that constitute Joyboys. 


"In making a record, as in sharpening," says Fry, "you grind away what you don't need."

The album cover, meticulously photographed in the style of a Dutch Old Master by Dylan O'Connor, features such disconcerting preparations as a chocolate-drenched ham, dangerous utensils, wires suspended in melting Jello, a salad dressed with cigarette butts, and other details.


"It's a Carravagio of ruin, like most of life," says Fry. "You either laugh or die even sooner."

Joyboys In The Grindhouse will be available as an audiophile 180-gram LP, as well as digitally and on CD.




Produced by Name Sayers and Grant Eppley at Hen House Recording (Austin, Texas)


Mixed by Grant Eppley


Mastered by Steve Fallone & Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound NJ


Devin James Fry // Vocals, guitar, synthesizers, programming, Jitter Getter
Grant Himmler // Bass, synthesizers, programming
Garrett Hellman // Guitar, piano
Marc Henry // Drums, percussion


Wayne Kramer // Guest lead guitar
Chris Conde // Guest vocals
E-Turn // Guest Vocals
Grant Eppley // Synthesizers
Nat Tate // Backing vocals

Joyboys In The Grindhouse (180 Gram Vinyl LP)

Ships on or around album release date of July 11
    Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
    bottom of page