top of page

Gravedancing Again

Fifth single from 'Joyboys In The Grindhouse'


Devin James Fry // vocals, guitar

Grant Himmler // bass, synthesizers

Garrett Hellman // guitar

Marc Henry // drums and percussion


Produced and recorded by Grant Eppley, Name Sayers, and Devin James Fry at Hen House Recording in Austin, Texas. Copyright 2023 Name Sayers LLC. Video shot by Evan Michael Crowley and edited by Chandler Jowell.



Since we only own our actions, we do a single-minded dance 

Fill our bodies with compassion / Leave the rest of it to chance

We've got a calculated drag step / It's a coordinated spin

I guess we've always been the gravedancers / I guess we're gravedancing again

I guess we're gravedancing again


We've got a calculated drag step / We got a bloody hungry spin

I guess we've always been the gravedancers / I guess we're gravedancing again

And if we twist again like we did last summer / I'll see you in the street

I guess we've always been the gravedancers / Whole country's at our feet


More about Name Sayers' new album:

Joyboys In The Grindhouse (front).JPG

Joyboys In The Grindhouse

Produced by Grammy nominee Grant Eppley (for Spoon's Lucifer On The Sofa)

Mastered by Steve Fallone & Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound NJ

Featuring guitarist Wayne Kramer and rappers Chris Conde and E-Turn

Singles: "Reaper," "Lioness,"

"Three Will Grow Back (ft. Wayne Kramer, Chris Conde, and E-Turn,"

and "Gravedancer (ft. Chris Conde)"

Joyboys In The Grindhouse was released July 28, 2023.

Name Sayers is pleased to announce the July 2023 release of Joyboys In The Grindhouse.  The album marks a pop evolution for the band, incorporating elements of psych rock, hip hop, synth pop, and cumbia, and featuring guest appearances from guitarist Wayne Kramer of The MC5, Brooklyn rapper Chris Conde, and Orlando rapper E-Turn.  The album was produced by Grammy nominee Grant Eppley (for Spoon's Lucifer On The Sofa).

Name Sayers' personell includes Devin James Fry on vocals and various instruments, Grant Himmler on bass, Garrett Hellman on guitar, and Marc Henry on drums.

"We made some brutal pop songs," says Fry, "and celebrated everyone's creative input along the way.  Joyboys dips in and out of sonic worlds while still being very much a Name Sayers joint." 

The band has a history of organizing, producing, and promoting successful destination shows, including supporting the Bonnie 'Prince' Billy and Matt Sweeney collaboration, Superwolves, in the towering main chamber of Longhorn Caverns, and the Black Angels' Alex Maas, in the picturesque desolation of a Texas ghost town. 


The taut lyrics of Joyboys In The Grindhouse touch on sex, psychonautic tour experiences, self-medication for social anxiety, and the resiliency which can result from sustained political resistance.

The album's title nods to both a wry sense of camp that imbues the project and to Fry's hands-on profession as a surgical instrument sharpener. Fully 49 songs were written, demoed, and culled to the 11 that constitute Joyboys. 


"In making a record, as in sharpening," says Fry, "you grind away what you don't need."

The album cover, meticulously photographed in the style of a Dutch Old Master by Dylan O'Connor, features such disconcerting preparations as a chocolate-drenched ham, dangerous utensils, wires suspended in melting Jello, a salad dressed with cigarette butts, and other details.


"It's a Carravagio of ruin, like most of life," says Fry. "You either laugh or die even sooner."

Joyboys In The Grindhouse is available as an audiophile 180-gram LP, as well as digitally and on CD.

-August 2023

Name Sayers wraps tight, darkly offbeat pop arrangements around unlikely hooks. Devin James Fry sings, Grant Himmler on bass and synthesizers, Marc Henry at the kit, and Garrett Hellman on guitar.

"Name Sayers have pushed the envelope and it's proven a success ...
It's about time the world took note." - York Calling

"They sound inexhaustible and like they’re just starting to scratch
the surface of what they can do." - Vents Magazine

"The protest, fire, and power conveyed through every sound
are incredible ... a true art house masterpiece" - Indie Boulevard

bottom of page